GAPS Grain Alternative Ideas

When I was told that I am not allowed to eat any grains including Rice, I was Devastated. As Japanese, I grew up with rice. Almost every meal, rice is involved. (not ALL but DAILY for sure) Most of Japanese dishes are made to eat with rice. So I feel something is missing when I eat meals without rice, or at least alternative carbs like bread or potato are required by my desire.

Apparently my gut doesn’t require those grans and carbs. Only in my head, I need it. It is so very hard for me to cut rice, especially. Fine with Gluten Free diet, but Not fine with No Grain diet. Life is hard without grains.

So here are some of my grain alternative ideas.

Idea #1: Kabocha Pumpkin/Squash

kabocha1I’m so happy that pumpkins are GAPS friendly food. This Kabocha is only pumpkin what Japanese eat. If you ask Japanese “What color of Pumpkin?” they say “GREEN” for 100%. Kabocha has green skins like acorn squash. However, the difference is that you can actually eat the Skin! You just wash the pumpkin to steam or bake, then take the seeds out before eat.  (This is how Kabocha looks like)

This is how I cook – the EASIEST way of cooking Kabocha!

  1. Wash the Kabocha skin with water.
  2. Place whole Kabocha in Instant Pot/Pressure Cooker. Add half cup of water too.
  3. Close the lid, Steam for 3 min, then Natural Release.
  4. Open the lid, cut in half to take the seeds out. Cut to serve to eat as is.

It taste totally different from those Jack-O-Lantern pumpkins. Taste closed to baked Chestnut or Sweet Potato. It is great breakfast ideas aside with GAPS sour cream. Yumm

 

Idea #2: Chinese Green Stir-Fry

Looking at these mysterious Chinese greens at Superstore the other day, I thought, I should try. Stir-fry with garlic, it turned out so delish even kids would go for it!

 

  1. Wash the greens to cut in easy-to-eat sizes. Set aside.
  2. In larger frying pan, Saute minced garlic (3-4 cloves) with coconut oil.
  3. Add the greens into pan to stir-fry 5-10 min until leaves get darker green. (You don’t want to over cook. I love crunchy texture.)
  4. Salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Poor some sesame oil (2 tbsp) to finish.

These work better than salads for our family. Kids don’t eat salads, but stir-fries. You are also getting garlic and good fat!

Idea #3: Roasted Root Veggies

Root veggies are great for all people. For Candida people, Rutabaga is your BEST FRIEND! Rutabaga helps to fight against Candida buggers! You can sub Potato with Rutabaga, however, it has little bit bitterness and not exactly same with Potato. Still you can bake, or add into soups. This is not My-Kids’ friendly recipes. They just don’t like Rutabaga. lol

  1. Wash and peel Rutabaga. (I used two)
  2. Dice into bigger bite pieces.
  3. Place root veggies on the baking sheet along with parchment paper. Mix with ghee, salt lightly.
  4. Bake at 350F for 45 min to 1 hour until it’s cooked. Do not burn but cook them till toothpick can easily go in.

I had these with salmon. Salmon was also cooked with them. Throw both in the oven, had nice bath before bath. I like evenings like this.

Happy Gut, Happy Mom.

Leave a Reply

