My Very First Naturopath

Last November, on actual my birthday, I decided to try to see Naturopath for the very first time in my life. I wanted to see what Naturopath can offer to me. I did blood test with my family doctor and result came back as Excellent as always. Seems like I have no issues but I know something wrong with me as my poop tells me so – dry stool, no matter how much water and fiber I intake. Something wrong in my gut. That’s what my gut feeling, I can’t ignore that.

After 45min of consulting with my Naturopath doctor, she told me that I might have Candida Overgrowth. I never had heard of Candida overgrowth before, so never doubt that I have such thing. However, I was more than thrilled that my doctor had an idea with what’s going on with me and my dear gut.

Candida Albicans is common type of yeast infection can be found in intestinal tract, mouth and vagina. Candida is a fungus that aids with nutrient absorption and digestion, when in proper levels in the body. So anyone can have it, and that’s okay until overgrowth. When it overproduces, it may cause typical Candida symptoms such as Exhaustion, Cravings for sweets, Bad breath, Weak immune system, Brain fog, Hormone imbalance, Loss of sex drive, Skin issues, Chronic sinus and allergy issues, Digestive problems and more. 

Bingo?! Sounds like I have Candida. Well, all moms might have similar symptoms?! But still, I’ve been struggling with angry itchy scalp and skin for about few years now. It might something to do with Candida.

What’s Candida do to my gut or your gut or everyone’s gut? It breaks down the walls of the intestinal lining and penetrates into the blood stream. This releases by-product toxins and other toxins from your system, causing Leaky Gut Syndrome. Nasty!

So I decided to do a food sensitivity test including Candida level check with my Naturopath. To be continued to next blog of Bingo! It’s Candida Overgrowth!

healthy-food-sensitivity

Note: What’s different from Food Allergy and Food Sensitivity? In a food reaction, the immune system reacts by releasing cells called antibodies. Foods that cause antibiodies to be released are called antigens or allergens. Two types of antibodies commonly produced in response to foods are IgE (immunoglobulin E) and IgG (immunoglobulin G). Food allergies and food sensitivities differ by an immediate reaction caused by the production of IgE antibodies, while food sensitivity is a delayed reaction caused by the production of IgG antibodies to specific foods. Yeah, so food sensitivity is hard to determine.

Leave a Reply

